This is a very common question I receive when people call in and ask about a DUI arrest.
In Washington State, your license privilege is not revoked right away and it is no longer punched like in years past. Currently, you have 20 days from the date of arrest or from the date the DOL notifies you of a potential suspension based upon a blood draw to request a telephonic (civil) administrative hearing to challenge any suspension.
As long as you submit your application (and payment) for a DUI Hearing within the time period (the DOL counts every day and they don't skip holidays or weekends, so we mean exactly 20 days - it just has to be postmarked) you will have a hearing set up. The DOL will provide the DOL exhibits (police report) to the person listed on the Request for DUI hearing or the listed attorney and provide the time and date of the hearing and hearing officer assigned to the case.
If you do not ask for a hearing within the 20 day period, your license will be suspended by the DOL on the 60th day from the date of arrest in the case of a BAC or Refusal to take a BAC or 60th day from the date of the 20 day notice letter in the case of a blood draw.
This can all get very confusing very quickly, so call the Webb Law Firm right away if you or anyone you know has been arrested for a DUI in Washington state. (425) 522-4200
There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.
Leave a Comment