Dismissed! - Hit and Run Attended Vehicle
Mr. Webb represented a client in Longview, Washington and filed briefing referred to in the Washington State Judicial System as a Knapstad motion. The motion essentially alleges that even if everything in the police reports and accompanying documents are true, the elements of the crime cannot be proven.
In this particular case, covered by the local media at www.tdn.com, the police alleged our client had hit a vehicle and run from the scene without leaving any information; however, the police reports and witness statement did not indicate the elements of that alleged crime had been committed and the judge at a CrRLJ 3.6 hearing dismissed that charge. A Hit and Run Attended carries a maximum sentence of 364 days in jail and a $5,000 fine and a one year license suspension via the Department of Licensing. Luckily our client avoided any of these possible outcomes due to the judge's correct ruling regarding the facts, or in this case missing facts.
State v. P.L.
Practice area(s): DUI / DWI